Organizing Life’s Garden

I couldn’t believe my eyes!  How could this have happened?  It looked fine just the other day and now everything was so out of control.  I just knew that it was going to take several hours of work to clean-up and sort out this mess.  I had to make the decision to continue to look the other way or to do something about it.  However, I knew that if I continued to neglect it, the problem would continue to grow.  I knew that if it continued to grow out of control I would be wasting money, spending even more time down the road to deal with the situation and feeling even more overwhelmed.  Sound or feel familiar?

This past weekend I spent several hours doing yard work on my patio deck.  To be completely honest, I must confess that I haven’t spent much time gardening since Fall turned into Winter.  I had allowed the busyness of life to keep me from truly tending to my trees, plants and flowers.  When I finally took the time to look outside I noticed that weeds had cropped up, my trees were overgrown and dead blossoms were taking up space on my flowers not allowing for new growth.  I also knew that it was time to prune back several of my plants so that new life could begin in the Spring.  Just like I let my garden grow cluttered, disorganized and messy, it can be so easy to do the same with our lives.

As I worked in my garden I couldn’t help but draw similarities to gardening and organization.  Here are a couple that came to my mind:

–  Piles of Paper and Weeding. If you don’t nip it in the bud early on, it grows out of control and becomes a very cumbersome task.  It is necessary to work at it on a regular basis and keep it under control.

– De-cluttering and Pruning. Getting rid of things that no longer serve a purpose is important for growth.  In the world of gardening, pruning is done in order to make room for new growth or blossoms.  In the world of organizing, de-cluttering is done to make space for the truly important, treasured things in life.  When we become so attached to “things” that don’t add value to our lives then we become stuck, we don’t grow and we crowd out any new, healthy things that could come our way.  There is nothing like seeing a rose-bush that is pruned in the winter produce beautiful new buds in the Spring.

– Systems and Eco-Systems. It is important to discover an organizing system that works for each individual.  There is no such thing as “one size fits all” in the world of organization.  It is important to develop a system that is optimal for your individual situation, your organizing style and your space.  The same is important in gardening.  A plant that grows and flourishes in one eco-system might not flourish in another.  You wouldn’t plant roses in the Arctic Circle, just as you wouldn’t plant a banana tree in Death Valley.  It is important to know which climate, soil, fertilizer, sunlight and watering needs are optimal for each plant to flourish to its potential.

– Maintenance. Whether you are gardening or organizing, maintenance is the key.  With organizing you can’t organize it once and expect it to always remain organized.  With gardening you can’t just plant some flowers and never lift another finger.  We have to build time into our busy schedules to maintain our lives or our gardens.  Isn’t it amazing that a yard that is properly maintained produces more enjoyment than a yard that is ignored?  The same is true with maintaining an organizing system.  The more you put into maintaining a system that works for you, the more you will enjoy your life.

  • So how is your organizing garden doing these days?
  • Are you in a period of growth or decline?
  • Are you needing to prune back your life and de-clutter?
  • Do you need to spend more time weeding through papers and important documents so you can find what you need when you need it?
  • Do you have the right systems in the proper place or are you struggling in your current eco-system at home or at work?
  • How well are your maintenance plans working for you? Do you have regularly scheduled time to file, to organize, and/or to weed through your stuff?

I can’t tell you how good it felt to get my outdoor garden back in order this past weekend.  I have peeked out the window several times since to admire the beauty.  Even though it is winter, my plants look pretty good.  I can’t wait to enjoy the benefits of my labor as winter turns into spring.  There is nothing like creating beautiful garden designs, nurturing your favorite plants and watching them bloom all around you.  Then again, I have the same feeling every time work begins on a new organizing project with a client!  I love working with clients to create purposeful organizing systems that with regular maintenance can reap the benefits of a less stressful and more enjoyable life.

SpaceMasters can assist you in achieving an organized life for your home or business.  We offer a variety of solutions and products to help you grow, maintain and flourish in life.  Contact SpaceMasters at 818.232.7145 or visit us on the web at: http://www.thespacemasters.com for more information about our services.

Leave a Reply

